My mind is full…

“I consider that a man’s brain originally is like a little empty attic, and you have to stock it with such furniture as you choose. A fool takes in all the lumber of every sort that he comes across, so that the knowledge which might be useful to him gets crowded out, or at best is jumbled up with a lot of other things, so that he has a difficulty in laying his hands upon it.” ~Sherlock Holmes, A Study in Scarlet

I am beginning to wonder whether Holmes really has a point with this statement. I have reached the point in this semester that I dread the most. Each semester around week 10 or 11, I hit a wall. It feels as though my brain has reached its maximum capacity. I have a harder time remaining interested in obtaining new knowledge. I have so many things running through my conscious thought processes that I am unable to adequately concentrate on any one thing for any period of time at all.

It seems that the further the semester goes, the worse I get at managing my time. I become so overwhelmed with responsibilities that I do not feel any drive to participate in my hobbies or other extracurricular activities that I would otherwise enjoy. Despite the fact that this is when I need to be most creative, all non-academically related creativity is passionless and bored.

Even the synesthetic impressions that usually make my life so colorful become muted or overwritten by the string of things I need to remember and to do. If anything, they end up reflecting a grayscale blob of words and pictures representing the cloud of To-Do’s and facts that I absolutely must not forget. This synesthetically-generated cloud sits in front of all other thoughts and functionality, manifesting itself as a confused and slightly scatterbrained personality within me.

Lately, I have also had more trouble sleeping than I usually do. It often hits right around this time of the school year. I hypothesize that my brain has so much running through it that it is unable to settle down and get the rest it needs. This means that I am tired during the day, which then results in my already scatterbrained self becoming even more functionally incompetent. Throw caffeine into the mix to keep me awake, and my mind becomes a big, blended nightmare.

Does anyone have good suggestions for how to deal with this tenth-week mind sludge? I have at least five more semesters of foreseeable college classes. I may as well learn to deal with it while I can. Any suggestions would be appreciated. 🙂

Thoughts?

